Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post.

Well, here it is, my very own blog. I’ve never actually owned a blog before, so this is new territory for me. But, I’ve been receiving quite a bit of requests for a place where I can share my adventures and my photography. So here it is!

I’m still learning how to work this site and customize my blog, but I’ll get there eventually. Currently my adventures have been dominating my time, but I’m hoping to devote enough time to make this site somewhat respectable.

Anyway… who am I and why am I here?

Well I already kinda told you about the second part to that question, I’m here to share my photography. But there’s more to that, because anyone can buy a camera and go out and take pictures and simply post them to Facebook, and I’ve gone that route, believe me. But I want to share more than just a picture. I want to share my adventure, give you a glimpse into the places I’m going, share with you awesome places in the great outdoors, maybe occasionally post some history nuggets, and hopefully leave you with a greater appreciation for this earth we call home.

I grew up in very rural area, on a farm to be exact. Growing up we didn’t have internet, we didn’t have cell phones, or Nintendos, or computers, and we had a grand total of five TV channels! But we did have wide open spaces and plenty of countryside to explore. That’s where I got my start as such an adventurer, it all began with hopping on my bike and pedaling wherever the dirt road took me. My parents were firm believers that children should spent most of their time outdoors and that it was a day wasted if we didn’t come home with grass stains on our pants and mud on our shoes (even if my mom yelled at us for tracking it in the house. Sorry Ma!)

I’ve held onto that attitude as I grew older, I traded my Huffy for a tent and some hiking boots and off I went. The great outdoors is our greatest resource, and I plan to explore it as much as I possibly can. So stick around, I hope to be able to show you just how kick-ass this world really is.

-Johnathan

Leave a Reply

